Some people think that governments should spend more money on sports facilities for top athletes, others argue that this money should be spent on sports facilities for ordinary people. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

There is a debate over the use of government money on sports facilities for world-class athletes or for civilians. While some believe spending money on top athletes is a better option, I agree with those who argue that money should be allocated for ordinary people. On the one hand, it could be disputed that equipping some sports facilities with greater tools and technology exclusive for top athletes is a better idea. One reason is that this allows countries to earn international acclaim and reputation. This can be seen in Uzbekistan, which recently qualified for the prestigious competition called "World Cup", only by implementing this method. Moreover, they also secured their spot in the Olympics. As a result, it immediately improved their financial condition, which in turn helped them to get out of their debts. Despite these arguments, I side with those who believe that governments' money should be spent on facilities which are accessible for everyone. Firstly, it creates inequality and unfairness. Most of the government's money is taxpayer money, and when people see their money being allocated for buildings which are not available to them, it makes them disappointed and frustrated. Additionally, it influences residents' physical health. For example, if all money is invested in these kinds of facilities, the number of sports areas available for local people will diminish, which eventually leads people into a sedentary lifestyle. Therefore, it would be better if this money goes to the construction of new facilities for everybody. To sum up, although some individuals believe that governments should spend more money on sports buildings for top athletes since it offers them success in international tournaments, I think that spending this money on buildings accessible for everyone is a wiser idea since materials are taxpayer money and it affects local people's physical condition.