The most important aim of science should be to improve people’s lives. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Enhancing human life should be regarded as a paramount objective of scientific endeavours. This essay totally agrees with this statement because people are suffering from multiple health issues, and energy sources are diminishing. By developing new advanced drugs and bringing innovation in technology, these problems can be solved. On the one hand, individuals are suffering from various health problems, which were once uncommon in earlier generations, such as cancer, Allergies, psychological disorders, etc. And traditional methods of treatment using herbs and meditation cannot help cure such ailments. To treat diseases like cancer, new pharmaceutical medicines are required which have more potential to cure the illness. Additionally, the diagnosis of diseases is also equally important. That can be done by inventing more advanced medical machines and devices to perform complex surgeries. For example, a USA-based pharma company invented a robotic operation machine which can help doctors perform risky brain operations. On the other hand, energy resources are also depleting day by day. These resources are crucial for our daily life convenience. Currently, approximately 90 per cent of global electricity is produced by coal, which will finish after some decades. So, it is imperative for scientific inquiry to seek new alternative renewable resources to ensure that people can sustain the comfort of modern life. For instance, many countries have already started exploring new ways of energy production, especially electricity, and India is planning to establish new nuclear plants to fulfil the increasing demand for electricity by citizens. In conclusion, by inventing new technological devices, it seems possible to mitigate problems associated with health and energy.