It’s becoming more and more popular to have a year off between graduating the school and entering the University. Point out the advantages and disadvantages of this.

It is true that nowadays students argue a lot about taking a gap year after high school which has benefits such as taking a mental rest, besides the disadvantages of losing motivation to study to be taken into consideration before deciding whether or not to take a year off. On the one hand, there are many advantages, the most important of which is that students will gain a mental break from studying. We often hear from teachers how critical brain rest is. This is mainly because teenagers will be allowed to travell to discover new cultures, explore things they are likely have not seen before. As a result from this students might came back after the break with new energy and a massive enthusiasm towards studying, which is a significant upside. However, on the other hand, one of the biggest drawbacks is that students may lose motivation to complete their university. This is because of the dramatic fun and the high level of dopamine they have exposed to. Consequently, they might enter a loop called " the rest zone " of which there are no exit doors there. As a consequence, they will probably regret their decision to take a year break and wish they had been advised by an older, wiser and expert person, such as their parents. In conclude, personally I firmly believe that the downside of taking a year gap is definitely greater than the upside, because these days qualifications are determine onn what life conditions you will live