Some people think that too much money and time have been allocated to scientific research. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In the contemporary society, the enhancement of science technology has brought dramatic changes to people’s lives, while some people think that too much money and time has been allocated to the scientific researches. As far as I’m concerned, I fully oppose this viewpoint. Body · 1 Admittedly, allocating money and time to scientific researches includes problems of cannot improve people’s lives instantly. However, the long-term influences of scientific researches shouldn’t be neglected.First and foremost, costing time and money in scientific researches can motivate the development of the society. To be more specific, from the long-term aspect, allocating time and capital on scientific researches continuously can boost the development of science technology that can increase the productivity and make our daily life more convenient. For instance, before the first industrial revolution, provided that Watt didn’t spent time and money on his research, the steam engine won’t be enhanced and the surge of productivity and transportation of England won’t exist. Body · 2 Moreover, allocating time and money in scientific researches can enhance national competitiveness. Specifically, as sufficient time and money are allocated, the research outcome may lead to a boost in various areas including economy, productivity as well as military, which are all indispensable fields of judging a nation’s general competitiveness. For example, in the 1940s the breakthrough in nuclear physics of America not only brings it the atomic bomb, but also leads to the designing of nuclear power station, which provides an approach of handling energy issues. Body · 3 To sum up, although allocating time and money on scientific research seems a waste of resources from the short-term aspect, however the benefit it brings in the long-term progress, including the effects on motivating the development of society and national competitiveness, is revolutionary and outweigh its drawbacks.

In the contemporary society, the rapid enhancement of technology has brought dramatic convenience to people’s daily communication by some online platforms such as Zoom and Microsoft Teams. It is common for people to choose communicating through social media rather than face-to-face. Personally, I argue that the disadvantages of using social media to communicate outweigh the advantages.