Sports programmes are very popular on television nowadays. Some people argue that those programmes are the reasons for poor health of many young people as the prefer to watch sports rather than partake in them. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this view?

Television is an important source of entertainment in the modern world. People can watch movies, be informed about the world through news channels and watch sporting events from all over the world. A lot of people that are avid sports fans believe that the television programmes bring them closer to their sport of choice, so it is a blessing for them. Meanwhile, some argue that the television sets unrealistic standards for the viewers where they feel comfortable only to watch and not to partake. I personally with the former opinion. Body · 1 Sport is one of the few universal phenoma that brings people together from all socio-economic backgrounds. Doesn't matter if you're rich or poor, sports programmes give you the equal opportunity to witness a game that creates joy for you. It builds community. Furthermore, it is a fact that not every person who has an interest in a sport can afford to buy live tickets to the game. The television screening of it gives them access to something they couldn't otherwise enjoy. It would be remiss to mention that in some cases, people get very dependent on the television programmes and neglect their active lifestyles. But the pros of television programmes outweigh the cons. Body · 2 In my opinion, people's poor health is a reflection of their own mindset and their ability to seperate the real world from the world on the screen. So blaming television is no different than blaming the internet for bad health amongst teenagers. The television and the internet are modern devices created to help enhance our lives and should be used accordingly. An argument can be made that if the television can influence the deterioration in someone's active lifestyle it can also inspire them to improve their health and get inspiration from the atheletes they watch on the television.

In conclusion, television programmes are a method of entertainment and they should be limited to serving that purpose. Us as human beings need to make the healthy choice of knowing when to stop letting it influence our real life and take responsibility of your own health and activity.