Some think that current generation should take steps in protecting nature for the next generation. To what extent do you agree?

Our planet is developing and expanding the horizons on knowledge that wasn't even in the observational universe a few decades ago. But, this constant need to keep exploring has created a negative impact on our surroundings. It is widely believed that this generation and its modern ways have been detrimental for nature, and it is our job to leave this planet better than we found it. I completely agree with this belief. Body · 1 Technology has been a gift we gave ourselves to help us connect to people far away from us, give us more data about the things unknown and to make everyday life easier. But this gift is negatively impacting our flora and fauna because of the resources it uses. For example, processing systems for ChatGPT actively uses gallons of water to formulate it's responses. Which means, our decision to use it as a resource is resulting in depreciating water levels for the future generation. Refraining from using technology that is exponentially depleting natural resources is a step we can take today which would benefit the next occupants of this planet. Body · 2 Protecting nature is not only something we must do for the future generations, but nature also directly impacts us. Drawing from real life observations - in 2022, excessive tuna finishing in the Indian and Pacific ocean led to a worldwide shortage of tunafish. This not only exponentially increased their price but also negatively affected the biological food pyramid for other sea organisms. This shows us that the actions we take not only have an effect in the future, but have an immediate negative connotation on us.

In conclusion, I would like to end this essay with the words of Sir David Attenborough. He rightly said, 'We only have one planet, it is our highest level of duty to take care of it '.