Topic 2: When international media (including movies, fashion shows, advertisements and other TV programmes) convey the same messages to the global audience, people argue that the expansion of international media has negative impacts on cultural diversity. What is your opinion?

We live in the age where technology has made it possible for us to access information from all over the globe. Some people believe that the international content we consume in the form of movies, fashions shows and advertisements could have a negative impact, while some also argue that this phenomena has bridged the gap between different parts of the world. I personally, strongly believe in the former. Body · 1 Although, the intent of having international media broadcasted to a global audience, is to give every part of the world an equal access to information. But this could severely create more drift that unison between the people. For example, a 12 year old girl from a rural village in India, when exposed to the Victoria Secret fashion show happening in the United States, could eventually end up having unrealistic beauty standards. The gap between her reality and what is being fed to her as information could widen and result in her having serious body image issues. Body · 2 It would be remiss to mention, that the globalisation of news keeps the whole world informed about the status of civilisation and helps people make decisions regarding travel, stock purchases etc. Globalisation of entertainment only creates a sense of comparison and eventually dissatisfaction with their own context.

In conclusion, it is an advantage that we are progressing towards a world that has uniform resources, there needs to be some kind of constraint as to how entertainment is distributed globally so as to avoid creating a bigger divide in culture.