In spite of many advances women have made in education and unemployment, they continue to be at a disadvantage when it comes to pay and promotion. What are the causes of this and what measures can be taken to solve?

Our society has come a long way in providing close to equal opportunity for women in education and employment. Although, this progress deserves credit, women still struggle to get compensated on the same level as men in their position. It is also a fact that, women have to work twice as hard to be considered for promotions. This is a phenomenon that is rooted in deep misogyny and affects the modern day women regardless of their rank and their background. This essay will elaborate on the causes and will look at the methods to combat this issue. Body · 1 It is no mystery that gender bias has existed in the workforce due to women being considered less capable than men in every industry. This rooted misogyny has not only conditioned women to ask for less to begin with, but also created unsafe spaces for them to get access to what they truly deserve. It is a widely known fact that in Hollywood, female leads do not get paid as much as the male lead. Some could argue that this is because of the scope of their roles in the script, but even female-led script has higher paying male actors. Body · 2 This contradiction isn't random and follows the pattern of women being trusted less than men to accomplish any job. To break this pattern, we must address the concept of how society perceives women. We must all recalibrate our core values to believe that women possess the same capabilities as men. It should also be made imperative for people to be rewarded for their work based purely on their talent and skills, irrespective of their gender.

In conclusion, the only way for deep rooted misogyny to slowly fade away from society is to fundamentally bring equity into the world. Only when equity is succesful, equality can prevail.