University students are increasingly studying abroad as part of their studies. Do the advantages of studying abroad outweigh the disadvantages? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your knowledge or experience.

It is undeniable that increasingly more students are deciding to move away from their country to study. This choice is driven by different factors and carries with it several consequences. Body · 1 Although this decision totally depends on a person's characteristics, in my opinion, overall positive consequences to study abroad exceed downwards. Body · 2 The first benefit that comes up to my mind is that often going away from a native country bolsters the knowledge of a foreign language; people that I know who have experienced a period in another nation, came back knowing another language, allowing them to be more confident and to have more working opportunities in the future. Body · 3 Moreover, another consideration to take into account is that living abroad, for example in another city, may help individuals to improve in soft skills, such as cooking or being more organised, skills that without a doubt could bring self-improvement; individuals who live alone during their early adulthood will be substantially more independent in the future. A well-known example of this is Germany, which incentivize their inhabitants to have a study experience outside the country to improve not only their cultural baggage but also to become a better person. Body · 4 Conversely, there are also various disadvantages to studying abroad; some people could argue that living abroad for a long period could be difficult because it means leaving friends and family, which is not a small thing. Body · 5 Furthermore, there are countries where the level of universities is lower, and some people may think that an experience there could not be anything but a waste of time.

To sum up, I think that an experience of study abroad can produce positive consequences such as working opportunities and self-improvement, but on the other hand, it is not for everyone, as someone could feel too nostalgic; having said that, I think that this choice is totally personal.