The most effective way to reduce pollution is to increase the price of petrol. Do you agree or disagree?

It is true that raising the cost of petrol can be an efficient way of reducing pollution. However, I disagree that this is the only option to solve this wider issue, while there are also other solutions available. Admittedly, hiking the fee of gasoline can be helpful in pushing the amount of pollution to the downside. This is because the majority of the population will start relying on public transportation or car pooling rather than using their personal vehicles as people are extremely sensitive to changes in the price of goods that are base for everyday use. In addition to this, the major source of pollution tothe environment is an excessive amount of traffic on roads. Price shift will surely decrease the number of vehicles generating smoke on roads, leading to healthier environments. However, I disagree with the idea that this is the most efficient way, as there are other better alternatives available. Firstly, governments can play an important role in providing subsidies on EVs to make them affordable for all classes of people, as they are more costly. This will not only help in creating a pollution-free environment but will also cut the cost of buying fuel from other countries. For example, India imported approximately US$1.06 billion worth of crude oil from Iran during the year 2025, which was quite high as compared to 2024. To conclude, putting an extra charge on fuel can be helpful, but it cannot be a permanent solution for the environment, as there are other measures like the use of EVs available.