Some people believe that studying at university or college is the best route to a successful career, while others believe that it is better to get a job straight after school. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

People tend to hold different views about the contribution of learning theories to career advancement. Many people achieve career success but they fail to complete the university education. I think that the knowledge we have gained in university is essential to our success.By learning basic theories, people can gain an insight into the concepts and principles of certain subjects, so they can develop expertise in their favourite fields. For example, a psychiatrist cannot determine the best treatment, unless he or she has an in-depth knowledge of all theories about mental disorders. Many theories are developed based on practical experience, they have practical significance, and people who can master them will have great job prospects.Another benefit of learning theories is that people are able to improve their problem-solving skills and show their creativity. Theories make it possible for people to broaden their minds and develop creative solutions to problems, which can advance knowledge and technology. On the other hand, sometimes, the knowledge of theories may not be valuable in all cases. If students apply theories blindly, they will find that theories may not achieve expected outcomes. For example, management theories lay emphasis on teamwork, but sometimes, group decision making can have a detrimental effect on a company’s productivity. Meanwhile, even if theories are applicable, people should have some qualities to achieve success. One example is the management theory which places value on innovation; however, if people do not have positive qualities such as perseverance and attention to detail, they may not apply these theories well.In conclusion, it is necessary to lay emphasis on theoretical study because people can benefit from theoretical knowledge in their careers. Meanwhile, we need to acknowledge the fact that theories may not be of great value to one’s success in all contexts.