Many manufactured food and drink products contain high levels of sugar, which causes many health problems. sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to cosume less sugar. do you agree or disagree?

People opine that manufactured food and drink products contain high levels of sugar, resulting in health issues. I agree with the statement that sugary items should be made more expensive to encourage the population to consume less sugar. The reasons are discussed below. Firstly, if sugary items are priced higher, the public will be discouraged from purchasing them. Therefore, people will have to resort to natural forms of sugar like fruits such as, sweet strawberries, mangoes, bananas and peaches. For example, people who often buy sugar will change to artificial sweeteners or jaggery. Secondly, having fewer sweets leads to lower health problems. For instance, the rate of diabetic patients is rising;alongside, the count of individuals with blood pressure, cholesterol and cardiovascular problems is increasing. Furthermore, this puts more pressure on the healthcare system, with services and the quality of life in an economy. Lastly, making the items expensive will increase the government's revenue. Some individuals are addicted to sugary products; no matter how expensive these are, they continue to consume. Thus, despite the rise in the price, the overall income of the firms and the state is least likely to be negatively affected, as these have inelastic demand. In conclusion, I believe that the state should make sugary products more expensive because it assists in living a better quality of life and promotes making healthier decisions on what to consume. Despite knowing the consequences of high levels of sugary intake, the general population continues to increase their consumption. This makes it necessary for the authority to intervene to correct this market failure.