Ambition is a positive quality for people to have in society today. How important is it for people who want to succeed in life? Is it a positive or negative characteristic?

In this modern society, individuals have multiple goals and they can only achieve those if they are ambitious, which is one of the most significant positive qualities to have. To become a successful person, we need to have this quality as it ensures goal oriented mind-set and disciplines human brain to work hard. In my opinion, this is positive characteristic, which promotes mental well-being and productivity. Firstly, ambition is significant for individuals who want to achieve certain goals as it helps people to become goal oriented and disciplines the human brain. This means, people who are focused to achieve their goals, have hardworking attitude, and positive mind-set, which makes any aim achieveable. Research indicates that successful bussinessmen and professionals are highly ambitious people, who refused to give up and their brains are trained to work hard towards their goals consistently. This clearly demonstrates that people with aims are normal human beings; however, their brains are trained to be disciplined and goal oriented, which is significant for anyone to achieve their goals. Secondly, this is a positive development in an individual’s characteristic as this promotes mental well-being and ensures productivity. When people have this positive characteristic, they tend to build better understanding of what should be done to achieve the goal, which uplifts their mental health as they develop problem solving skills, coping mechanisms, and higher productive compared to individuals with no ambitions. For example, studies suggest that the team with ambitious members have higher probability to achieve the given target comparatively to the team who do not have such members. This is a strong evidence to support my viewpoint that being ambitious is a positive characteristic. To conclude, it is true that having ambitions are significant to achieve our goals and discipline our brain. I firmly remain convinced that this is one of the most important positive characters human being can have as this ensure better mental health and ensures productivity.