In the future all cars, busses, and trucks will be driverless. The only people travelling inside these vehicles will be passengers. Do you think the advantages of driverless vehicles outweigh the disadvantages?

In the future, almost all means of transport will be automated by Artificial Intelligence, and therefore, there’ll be no need for drivers inside the car. Although driverless transport sounds appealing in concept due to the speed and safety that it provides, I strongly believe that the disadvantages such as the rise of the unemployment rate that these vehicles might cause far outweigh any advantage. One supporting argument for automated vehicles is that it is very safe. Even though it is commonly believed that machines are unpredictable, these types of cars operate under very known patterns. In other words, the programs of these cars have a set of rules, and machines will never go against these rules. Meaning that, well-trained algorithms will guarantee safety on the road, unlike human drivers who tend to deviate from rules. For instance, according to the statistics, 50% of road accidents happen because of drunk driving. On the other hand, driverless cars reduce the demand for human drivers. As a result, there will be a risk that AI will fully replace humans. This means that the rate of unemployment will increase, and it will negatively impact the economy of the country. In addition, human driving still offers more flexibility. One good example could be that one can always ask a driver to make stops or change the route, however, in AI transport, this process will be complicated. In conclusion, automated driving has its own benefits, like safety, but disadvantages still outweigh them. The reason for that is that there is a huge risk that AI will fully replace the human workforce which carries a burden to the global economy. Therefore, I strongly believe that driverless transport is negatively impacting the world.