Many people believe money is a very important factor for achieving hapiness. Others, however believe that money has nothing to do with hapiness. Discuss both views.

There is a big controversy regarding whether money is a vital factor for happiness. Some opine it is unrelated, while others disagree. This essay will evaluate both viewpoints, followed by my personal opinion. On one hand of the argument, money is a major element. This can be characterised in two ways. The first is materialistic bliss, which means individuals get satisfaction from objects and items. There has been an increasing trend for individuals to go on shopping sprees as a distraction and coping mechanism for their problems. To illustrate, research by psychologists in Thailand shows that a large proportion of people spend a lot of fund on unnecessary objects when they are under stress. Another reason is fulfilling desires, and this is impossible to achieve without finances. Thus, money is a vital element for elation and contentment. For example, statistics show that nearly 100% of teenagers, whether rich or poor, own a mobile phone, be it first-hand or second-hand. For some, simply having a mobile phone is a luxury which their parents may struggle to afford, but without it, the teenager cannot survive. This proves that life without finance is an unhappy life! On the other hand, others believe it has nothing to do with being happy. As a result, this suggests that their mindset is that jubilation is intangible and comes from within oneself. For instance, individuals find joy in spending quality time with their family after dinner, watching movies and playing board games. Moreover, this can be looked at in a religious or cultural sense, such as people find joy in assisting other individuals, as well as, being happy knowing they do good deeds by helping members of their community and society by doing charity or donation. All in all, I think money is a very important aspect. This is because it is the core consideration that allows one to survive. Furthermore, it enables community to donate and hold charity events for a better cause. Finance may not be the only factor; however, it plays a significant role.