In recent years, many small local shops have closed because customers travel to large shopping centres or malls to do their shopping. Is this a positive or negative development?

In this modern world, people would purchase their needs from huge shopping malls rather then small local shops beacause shopping malls offer a vareity of merchandises and mixed prices on the products. Some goods are listed with a fair price and some of them are a bit expensive. This phenomenon has caused some local shops to close their businesses since they cannot compete large shopping centres. The positive effects are that Customers shopping from large scale shopping centres even buy a basic nessecity from the grocery malls because the chain stores there have a wider variety of items compared to small local shops. Therefor, individuals prefer to choose their merchandise among a wider range instead of purchasing from a narrow range of items at a higher price that are available in A small store. However, the negative effects of this development are that the widespread establishment of large shopping stores can ruin the business of small markets in the area because in a small market area if a shopping centre is built the local shops near the centre or in that area would be badly effected leading to less customers because individuals first priority will be travelling to malls. Consequently, small business closures mean that those sellers can not support their families and make a living properly anymore. To sum up, regarding the higher tendency of people for buying from large retail and chain stores instead of their own local markets, it has been a positive development, yet owners of small markets have faced a great loss regarding their career based on the reasons mentioned above.