In some countries, more and more adults are living with their parents after graduating from college, university or even after finding a job. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

In some parts of the world, a large number of mature people are living without separating from their parents after obtaining a degree or even commencing a career path. Although there are certain benefits, the drawbacks of this trend significantly outweigh the advantages. To begin with, more young individuals are prioritising living with their parents after stepping into adulthood over starting a new independent life. This is mainly because they do not need to take basic domestic responsibilities, such as cooking, cleaning, and managing a budget. Consequently, these individuals struggle to live on their own and adapt to real- life challenges when they eventually leave home. To illustrate, a person who has lived with his parents until 30 is more likely to have difficulties making important decisions independently, largely due to a lack of confidence and experience. Moreover, those who do so tend to struggle when it comes to finding a partner for themselves, because everything in their lives has been chosen by their parents. On the other hand, living with parents offers some financial benefits, such as covering the rent for the house, utility bills, and grocery shopping. People living with their parents can fully focus on their studies or careers without any household responsibilities. Furthermore, it is a common case that staying with parents and taking care of them is seen as the main mission of life, which prevents elders from social isolation. What is more, remaining with parents gives youth a chance to save up money for a new house, as prices are considerably high these days. In conclusion, even though staying with parents after graduating from university or even after starting a career grants several advantages, experiencing an independent life still remains essential, as facing life lessons definitely makes individuals mature. Overall, the disadvantages of living with parents clearly outweigh the advantages.