Education is not a luxury, but a basic human right and as such should be free for everyone irrespective of personal wealth. Do you agree or disagree?

For a long time education was a privilege and was accessible for wealthy people. But now it is believed that education can not be treated in this way, and should be accepted as basic human right and must be free for everyone despite of personal wealth. I partially agree with this statement, because people value and perform better when they pay for it, but free education could help science to develop and open students potential. To begin with, if people will get the education for free then would not value it properly. Cost of education is not just pack of words, behind it there are plenty researches who sacrificed their life for it and centuries of time. By knowing that quid pro quo is also in education, students more likely to perform more and value the teachers efforts. Besides that, education increases self-esteem and gives a hope to live, to have clear view for the future and by the end of the graduation and gained skills have competitive-wage in market. For instance, according to phycologists, people are more likely to value when they sacrificed something, it may be time, efforts or money. Therefore, making paid education filters out the rest and keeps the students who understand the value of education. Although, it creates the social stratification which is detrimental for mental health and reduce amount of talented students. Myriad of students can not pursue their desired degree due to lack of money and unfortunately they whether have to choose affordable major or ending up their life. Giving a chance to those students could have changed their life or maybe increase the number of researches that could positively effect humanity and develop science. For example, most of Ivy leagues students on scholarships are in STEM because of passion that they have and not losing it making move on science. Therefore, giving a chance to those students who are interested and passioned could make the world easier for students. In conclusion, investing on education is not cheap and most of the researches are funded by neither corporations or government and not for every passing by student with great passion can access to it. I think it is better to give discounts for low-income families and support them despite of the income they have.