The main purpose of public libraries should be to provide books. Public libraries should not spend their limited resources on computer software, videos, or DVDs. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

For centuries, where libraries remained a place to preserve ancient writings and wisdom, they kept spreading enlightenment for many scientists, who made good use of such facilities in olden days. Many individuals argue that local archives should not exhaust their confined funds in digitalisation. Libraries kept on adopting several upgrades and changes to better serve their visitors. I believe sourcing digital devices and employing software to benefit end users is crucial in the modern era. To begin with, modern libraries should meet modern needs, so computers and digital materials are also important for learning, job search, research, and public access to the latest information. For instance, many universities offer library access to their postgraduate students to utilise research papers and books which are not easily available outside the universities. Similarly, if libraries provide up-to-date technology to their end users, like computer devices and digital print for reading, analysis and compiling their own thesis, it will help them to communicate easily across the boarder for peer review. Secondly, many people, especially poor families and older people many not have a computer or internet at home, so libraries can help close this gap. For instance, students who can not afford digital devices to prepare their assignments can benefit from local libraries. Additionally, if any graduate is trying to access an online job database, they can comfortably access the local archive to do their market research. In conclusion, the upgrade of local libraries offers various benefits, especially digitalising itself for better service to its end users. On one side, I firmly agree with such modernisation, I would recommend governments and local authorities to come up to support libraries in funding such enhancements.