(XADA) Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

There is no denying fact that nowadays childrens tend to spend a significant amount of time on their smartphones. While it is commonly held belief that it is due to the technology growth in the current generation others arrgue that it is a negative development. This essay will analyze the case from both point of views and express why I believe that it affected children negatively. On one hand the technological development has improved the quality of life specially after the pandemic. Mostly, everything needed to be online during that period. For instance, children started taking classes online which as a result increased the amount of hours they use their devices. On the other hand, the increase of using the smartphones clearly had a noticeable negative impact on their interactions with other children and their families. In addision, they are relying on the devices on every aspect of their life instead of using the common practices that children used in the past decades. For example, they use their phones for playing games, watching videos, communicating with friends through various apps. In conclusion, there is no easy answer to this but I believe that the negative development was higher than the positive development of this technology due to various reasons. Mainly, because children are not able to experience the joy and beauty of life without having a device to rely on and their addiction on spending more time on it than playing in playgrounds or playing with normal board games.