Car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past thirty year that many cities in the world are now “one big traffic jam” How true do you think this statement is? What measures can governments take to discourage people from using their cars?

Over the past thirty years, rapid growth in car ownership has contributed to severe traffic in many cities around the world. I agree with this statement. While technological advancements improves the lives of people by providing attractive car features, but this situation can be effectively handle by the government, if they introduce new rules in the city. One of the main reasons of rising this problem is the rapid increase in private car ownership. In recent years, technology provides safety, comfort, and affordable prices of cars, which not only make people's life easier, but they also find it more convenient. Many car companies now offers new features to their customers, such as GPS navigation, advance safety measures, automatic parking brakes. Users find these features attaractive, and not hesitate to buy their own vehicles rather than relying on public transportation. As a result, the number of private cars has grown significantly, and it leads to increase the problem of traffic jams in urban areas. This issue can be resolved by official authorities by introducing new policies such as congestion charges, high parking fees, and increased fuel prices may discourage people to use their own vehicles, especially during peak hours. By enforcing these rules, people may be encouraged to shift towards public transportation, car -pooling and other convenient options. For example, odd-even formula were used by the Delhi government to reduce the car numbers on roads, and this formula was quite successful to manage a long queues of cars. Therefore, I think government should implement these kind of plans to improve the jams on roads. In conclusion, although rising car ownership has increased traffic congestion, this issue can be controlled through strict government regulations and better public transport facilities.