In many countries nowadays, consumers can go to a supermarket and buy food produced all over the world. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

The world is now becoming a global village. Due to that, most supermarkets across the globe sell food produced in different part of the world. From my perspective, this is a major leap in humanity as it has several merits which are elaborated in the following essay. Many positive developments can be put forth to support that this new trend has many advantages. The predominant merit is the international awareness of healthy diets from different nations. People are now able to purchase balanced, healthy and nutritions-rich groceries which are available at their footsteps at the nearest departmental stores. The increased emphasis to eat Indian food is a perfect example of this. Countless grocery stores are now selling Indian food, as a result, many people in North America have noticed better health conditions as these foods have more health benefits than their traditional food. Additionally, the international trade for food has also increased, resulting in elevated living standards for many families across the world. More and more consumable items are now being exported and imported in almost all countries, which has created stable employment for millions of individuals and families. A study published by the University of Toronto mentioned that about 35% of the Basmati rice produced in India is exported internationally which has created more than 200,000 permanent jobs in India. To conclude, due to the international trade of food and its availability in supermarkets in different continents, people have adopted healthy food from distinct nations. And, has raised millions of employment opportunities for humans.