Access to clean water is a basic human right. Therefore every home should have a water supply that is provided free of charge. Do you agree or disagree?

Water is one of the most essential resources for human beings. It supports our lives in many aspects, and we can not live without it; That is why there are people saying ‘ water is the source of life’. However, in terms of providing clean water for every home free of cost, I hold a negative standpoint. This essay will explain why I do not agree with this opinion. Firstly, providing clean water for free will lead to the abuse of using water, because there would be a strong possibility that people will see water as an infinite resource since there is no cost to using it. Therefore, people will no longer cherish water resources. This will cause a significant increase in water consumption and waste, and severely burden the water supply system in the city. The budget for water management will also increase, which means there will be less expenditure in other parts of social welfare. Eventually, the quality of our lives will be inevitably affected. Secondly, humans are not the only animal that needs the water. Outside of the human world, there are numerous animals that also rely on water. There are already reports in many places reflecting that some of the wildlife died because of the water shortages. Some of the environments are experiencing the problem of drying up. These examples are warning us that we should pay attention to the effects of human activities. Hence, the increase in water use in human society will worsen this situation. Although we usually tend to put human well-being first, we should still arrange to achieve a balance between humans and nature. In conclusion, I regard providing water for free as not being a good practice, because it will lead to the waste of water, ultimately lowering the quality of our lives. We should also be aware that there should be a balance between human water use and the natural environment.