Some experts think that beginning to learn a foreign language in primary school rather than secondary school is better for children. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

The revolution of education has impacted the way individuals look at language learning. Many experts assert that learning a new language should be done before going to middle school, as it has positive outcomes. This essay will discuss why the advantages of children acquiring a second language earlier outweigh the disadvantages of not doing so. A foreign language helps students to differentiate nuances greatly. To start, the younger they are taught a foreign alphabet the faster they gain knowledge. Also, learning a second language improves overall cognitive skills such as problem-solving and memory. This helps them to comprehend complex topics in other subjects like science or mathematics. Furthermore, exposure to a different language early on encourages children to be more open-minded and aware of different cultures in our globalized world. Moreover, recent studies show that people who started speaking multiple languages from an early age are astoundingly smart. In short, it is significant to introduce various languages to our children in order to provide them with a promising future. On the other hand, many people assume that pupils should only learn their native language. To explain, they claim that this act may result in children feeling overwhelmed or confused by learning two languages at the same time. This could potentially lead to a delay in mastering their mother-tongue. Furthermore, if the school curriculum focuses too much on a foreign language, children might lose focus on their own local culture and traditions, which may lead to a loss of identity. Finally, although the disadvantages of learning new languages from a young age might be convincing, I believe that the advantages are more compelling. In conclusion, while there are concerns about the academic load and cultural identity, the pros of teaching students a foreign language at a young age, such as better cognitive development and easier acquisition, will reflect on their future significantly. Thus, I strongly think that the benefits of early language education outweigh the drawbacks, and it should be a priority in primary school curriculums.