Nowadays, a growing number of people with health problems are trying alternative medicine and treatments instead of visiting their usual doctor. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

These days, relying on substitute medical services is commonly considered more beneficial than having scientific medical assistance. While alternative medicine offers several advantages, it also has certain critical points that individuals should take into account. This essay will put forward a view that, in some cases, alternative medicine could be a good approach, such as stress or sleep problems, but visiting a professional expert still remains essential to check one's overall health status. To begin with, a traditional medicine could be more effective compared with conventional medicine in a number of ways. This is mainly due to the fact that in traditional medicine, most medications are prepared using natural herbs. Furthermore, when one has slight pain or couldn't have adequate sleep, turning to herbal medications prepared by traditional healers is significantly therapeutic for one's organism rather than taking chemical pills. To illustrate, having had a digestive problem, my father had to visit a doctor last month. Surprisingly, the doctor recommended that my father drink special herbal tea prepared by the healer. That can prove that even scientists have admitted that alternative pharmaceuticals can sometimes substitute for chemicals. On the other hand, traditional medicine might pose a serious threat to people's well-being, as it is often based on methods that do not have scientific evidence. Moreover, healers do not have a medical qualification or certifications, which means they are probably not aware of the latest academic updates related to human fitness. Meanwhile, doctors and hospitals use tested medication, guaranteeing the safety of patients with major illnesses and injuries. For instance, a week ago, my little cousin hurt his arm playing with his brother, and my sister took him to the local healer. The healer applied a massage as a treatment and said that my cousin would be fine within a week. Unfortunately, my cousin didn't stop crying. Eventually, my sister had to take him to the surgeon, and the surgeon said that my cousin had a small fracture in his wrist. Fortunately, it wasn't too late to visit the doctor. Thus, alternative treatments are not able to confront serious injuries. In conclusion, although alternative medicine and treatments offer some advantages, it simultaneously creates a risk for health. Therefore, I believe that alternative medicine might be fine as extra support, but it should not replace conventional medical care.