Some people think that the government should provide assistance for artists such as musicians, painters, and poets. Others think that it is a waste of money. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Many people claim that artists should be financially supported by the government, whereas others believe government funds ought to be directed to other useful fields, as spending money on art is considered wasteful. This essay will discuss both perspectives before giving my opinion. To begin with, there is a view that the government has to allocate some money to assist musicians, painters, and poets. As people in other professions receive a monthly salary and bonuses, it is believed that artists also have the right to receive financial assistance. Not allocating the necessary funds to people in the arts can create dissatisfaction and a sense of injustice in society. Moreover, not providing a stable income for artists can discourage the younger generation from choosing a career related to art. This, in turn, could affect the future of the arts. Therefore, the government is obliged to provide the necessary support to artists. However, some people argue that there are more deserving public sectors that would benefit more from funding than the arts. As a result of global warming, many countries around the world are facing economic and agricultural crises. At this time, in order to stabilize the economy and prevent food shortages, the government should allocate money to these sectors. Furthermore, the amount of money needed for medical facilities is also increasing as the number of patients grows day by day. Taking any hospital as an example, expensive equipment and medicine are needed to treat complex diseases. Thus, a huge amount of government funding is required to provide free medical treatment for citizens. In addition, art can be considered self-sufficient to some extent. Many artists earn money by selling their work. Musicians can make money by creating music for singers, and painters can also sell their paintings at auctions or display them in galleries. Consequently, earning a living and supporting themselves may not be a significant problem for artists. To sum up, even though some people support the idea that providing assistance to artists is necessary, there is another group of people, including me, who believe that there are better ways to spend public funds than assisting people in the arts.