The rise of social media has affected personal relationships and society as a whole. do the advantages of using social media for communicationn outweigh the disadvantages

Close relationships and the public have been altered entirely by the growing popularity of social media. While it has some benefits, I strongly believe that social media has changed the way people communicate with each other irreversibly because they use text messages to express their ideas and thoughts instead of using facial expressions and gestures, which are important in communication. These drawbacks outweigh the advantages. One major advantage of the increasingly popular social media is that there is a considerable reduction in the time spent reaching a person or waiting for a response, which assists people in their jobs. This is because they can share their products to sell them on social media and they can easily contact their customers. As a result, their selling rates can increase rapidly. For instance, my friend who has a shop in our neighbourhood started to sell his products on social media, and his profit has increased incredibly in a few months. Therefore, there is a strong link between using social media for communication and people's business. However, social media has a detrimental effect on people's communication in close relationships. Adults use social media platforms to have conversations with their friends, but they cannot distinguish between a real and a fake reaction in a chat. Because in a face-to-face conversation, people use gestures and facial expressions that demonstrate important signs about their friends ' real ideas. To illustrate, I use some chat platforms such as WhatsApp where I talk with my friends, and I cannot understand their point of view about a topic, forcing me to meet them and ask them again about their ideas about the topic. Thus, social media has a negative impact on people's daily communication. In conclusion, although there are some advantages of using social media in people's jobs, I firmly maintain that social platforms have become a major obstacle to genuine communication in conversations, leading people to misunderstand their friends ' ideas.