In developed world, average life expectancy is increasing. What problems will this cause for individuals and society. Suggest some measures that could be taken to reduce the impact of ageing population.

Nowadays, one of the major issues that the modern world is facing is the rise of the mean lifespan. Inherently, it poses a number of critical issues for the community and the government. However, I believe that there are several effective steps that the government can take to minimise its impacts. First of all, as the elderly require far more special care, a large proportion of public spending will be channelled into taking care of them, instead of developing medical advancements. Moreover, the more the proportion of senior citizens is in a particular country, the more the tax burden falls on younger adults of that country, because the part of the budget that is spent on elderly people as a pension, and free or subsidised medical services is covered with the tax, which is collected from young individuals. Altogether, these factors significantly hinder economic growth. Regarding solutions, there are various approaches to overcome these problematic occurrences. Firstly, the sports centres and gyms at a lower cost should be offered to the working-age population by the government to encourage them to engage in regular physical activities. Along with this, the government ought to inspire the youth to check their health on a regular basis by providing free medical facilities. Subsequently, the authority can increase the retirement age up to 70, because the individuals who have taken care of their well-being may be as productive as the younger generation. In conclusion, while the ageing individuals present a range of issues for society, tackling the problem at an early stage can prevent it from occurring. These can be addressed by motivating the adults to maintain an active lifestyle to avoid potential health issues in the future