The internet has transformed the way information is shared and consumed, but it has also created problems that did not exist before. What are the most serious problems associated with this development? What are the possible solutions?

It is true that the way people find and share information has been transformed by the Internet. This can cause different problems, which calls for possible solutions to be adopted. There are many problems resulting from information being shared online. One obvious issue is that this trend can give rise to certain cyber dangers for users. This is because sharing too much personal information on social media platforms such as Facebook and Twitter can increase the risk of being hacked and harassed. This can result in stress, anxiety and other complicated consequences, and therefore lead to a decline in the victims’ quality of life. Another potential problem is that there are many unverified online sources of health information which contain misleading or wrong knowledge. This can be exemplified by the case of the anti-vaccine movement, which causes several parents to decide not to vaccinate their children. Various measures, nevertheless, can be adopted to tackle the situation. The first possible solution is that Internet users should take timely measures to protect their accounts. For example, social media users need to set strong passwords for social media accounts and avoid sharing private information, which can reinforce the security of their accounts and thus lower the chance of their private information being stolen. The second approach is that the government and social media companies should join forces to take some actions to reduce cyber threats. By way of illustration, they can start by introducing heavy punishments on hackers and Internet fraud or banning websites that are dangerous for people. In conclusion, although the fact that data is being shared largely and at a faster pace than before produces some negative impacts, steps can be taken to address the issue.