Nowadays, many people choose to be self-employed, rather than to work for a company or oganisation. Why might be the case? What could be the disadvantages of being self-employed?

These days, many people prefer to be their own boss instead of working for someone else. In this essay, I will discuss the advantages and disadvantages of this type of employment. Firstly, being self-employed offers independence when it comes to working hours, how much work one wants to do, and what creative decisions they may want to make. For instance, I run a tutoring business, and I choose when I want to teach, how many students I want to take on, and the style of teaching I want to use. Therefore, I am able to work more when I prefer to and less when I am more busy. If I had a boss, I would have to follow the work and hours they give me, take on students I may not want to teach, and have to follow a set of rules when it comes to my teaching styles. When you are self-employed, you make the rules and can cater them to your preferences. However, this freedom does not come without its disadvantages. The autonomy of being self-employed can also be a burden, as you have to be aware of all aspects of your business yourself. For instance, in my company, I am responsible for the marketing, creation of the materials, and teaching the students. Meanwhile, someone working at a larger company, would not have to find their students, would be handed the materials, and would just be responsible for teaching. Thus, self-employment can be very tiring and a huge responsibility compared to working at a company. In conclusion, being self-employed allows you to control every aspect of your business. On the other hand, this can result to a lot more work than a traditional job, and can prove to be too much at times.