Many children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

Majority of children are spending hours on their cell phones on a daily basis. This issue is mainly driven by peer pressure. I firmly believe that it is a negative development since it is largely time-consuming and may cause cognitive decline. The pressure from peers nudges children to spend a considerable amount of time on their smartphones. In schools, most pupils have their own smartphones, which they use daily to stay in touch with their friends. In order to keep in touch longer, these school children use their devices to get access to social media or video games, where they can continue their interaction even after school. For instance, children may ask for contacts or profiles of their friends and offer the game after school, especially if they cannot meet with each other. On the other hand, this may be highly distracting and time-consuming. There is no doubt that once a child starts playing a game or watching a video, it is highly problematic to stop continuing it. Mobile gamers, for example, video games such as PUBG and Brawl Stars, which went viral among school children, and this phenomenon caused a high rate of phone utilization for gaming purposes. Overall, all these factors may distract children from school or household duties, which may have a detrimental effect on their academic progress and relationships in a family. In addition, it may also lead to cognitive degradation. Social-media platforms such as TikTok or Instagram can offer a huge number of short-length videos which can have a negative impact on children's development, since they get used to short content and can no longer focus on something longer or on studies. With the advancement of technologies, the level of intelligence (IQ) has dropped significantly among teenagers and especially adolescents, as they started spending hours watching spoiling content, which they often refer as a brainrot. Consequently, the mentioned factors cause cognitive decline. To conclude, the reason behind why children spend so many hours on their smartphones is that they are simply encouraged by their peers to interact with them. Additionally, in my view it is a fully negative development as it distracts children from their main duties and causes mental degradation.