After graduation many students take a year to travel. Some think that it would be more useful to work for a year. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Spending a year traveling after graduating is a choice many students make, although it is argued by some that working during this period would be more relevant. I agree that it can be useful to invest time gaining work experience after graduation, but traveling can serve as a way to gain soft skills. On one hand, working for a year after graduation is a good way of gaining real life experience right after finishing studying, because there is the possibility to learn hard skills and practical experience that will be relevant for a successful future career. To illustrate, a person who wants to work in the medical field someday can work at a store that sells medical equipment and get familiarised with names and purposes of the items that are sold. In addition, I believe that earning money and starting an independent adult life is another relevant point to be considered, since most young adults wish to make their own money decisions. On the other hand, I admit that taking a gap year to travel after finishing your studies is a particularly good way to experience and understand different cultures and ways of thinking. For instance, if you live somewhere where the people are very closed to interpersonal relationships, there is the opportunity to go to a place people are warm and welcoming. Additionally, you can build your personal confidence traveling on your own and having to practice your independence. One clear example is that someone who has trouble speaking in public will have to communicate with others daily in another country. In conclusion, I mostly agree that starting to work right after graduation is of course a great way to start an idependent life, making money and obtaining experience. Alternatively, taking a year to travel can also be of help and importance to learning new cultures and social skills.