The rise of platforms like YouTube and Instagram has led many young people to spend a significant amount of time online, sometimes at the expense of their academic responsibilities. What are the consequences and solutions?

In this modern era, the social applications like Instagram, have become a subject of considerable debate. Youngsters are using social sites more often, even at the cost of their academic hours. This essay shall discuss the consequences and the solutions for this predicament. To begin with, there are numerous consequences of the excessive use of social websites on both individual and society. Firstly, longer screen time can lead to physical problems such as poor eyesight, neck pain, poor posture, and sedentary lifestyle. Unhealthy individuals not only lack in their physical performance but also suffer from various mental problems. Moreover, social media ruins the concentration ability of the people. The new trend of reels, which are mostly of fractions of seconds, interrupts the human brain to concentrate on one thing for the longer period. Eventually, this becomes habitual, which further, lowers the tendency of an individual to concentrate for more than a minute. The most important solution for this predicament is the implications of some government rules and regulations. Government should impose age limit to the access of social platforms. This would eventually filter the audience of the social media. Additionally, parents can also encourage their children towards habits like book reading and newspaper reading. Under the influence of the parents, youngsters could easily transform their awful habits. Nevertheless, schools can also motivate students to study more often from textbooks as compared to e-books. To conclude, scrolling reels on the social sites can reduce concentration of an individual. However, government, school and parents can altogether mitigate this problem with consistent efforts.