Every year large number of people migrate from one country to another for different reasons. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of migration for the individual and for society as a whole.

In the modern era, millions of individuals emigrate because of various reasons. This migration process leads to not only advantages, but also some disadvantages for both he individual and society as a whole. This essay will discuss both good sides and drawbacks of the global migration. Regarding benefits, widespread movement of the individuals can contribute to the progress of citizens and community. Leaving one country and settling in a completely new land, individuals can use a variety of opportunities and societies can adopt new members. In a new environment, migrants can establish strong bonds with indigenous inhabitants and share their experiences mutually. Similarly, communities of specific countries can easily benefit from the integration of different civilisations. When a social unit consists of members who represent various cultures and are loyal to their customs and traditions, entire neighborhood can gain more insights regarding history, beliefs, religions, lifestyles etc. To illustrate, when Azerbaijanis living in a foreign country celebrate national holidays, such as Novruz, they make bonfires,decorate tables with samples of national cuisine and pastry, say shekerbura, pakhlava, gogal and invite their neighbors to this ceremony that is accompanied with national music and dances. In contrast, for individuals as well as society, the tendency to leave for abroad can bring about serious concerns. One major drawback is that massive international relocation results in depletion of intellectual resources. As a result of the process called brain drain, millions of highly-skilled employees head to various countries around the globe. For instance, a vast number of scientists, doctors, engineers, IT professionals emigrate to different destinations across the world, in the hope of pursuing better career prospects. To conclude, even though transnational emigration can benefit both the individual and society as a whole by contributing to cultural assimilation significantly, it can cause some issues, such as human capital flight, etc