An increasing number of people choosing to have cosmetic surgery to improve their appearance. Why do people have operations to change the way they look? Do you think this is positive or negative development?

Cosmetic surgery has become more common in recent years as people want to change their appearances. This essay will explain the reasons behind this circumstance and discuss its negative impacts. Cosmetic surgery has become more common because people desire to fit in beauty standards. Many influencers, whose appearances are attractive, are famous on social media platforms. This can create insecurities, especially among teenagers who are vulnerable and easily influenced, as people get exposed to social media every day. Therefore, they would feel the need to change their physical appearance to blend in with the community. For example, in Korea, K-Pop idols are considered the beauty images within the country. Because of this, young girls are likely to have surgeries such as a nose job, face Botox, and lip filler, as many K-Pop idols have them. Although these surgeries bring benefits, their drawbacks are substantial. First, undergoing cosmetic surgery may be detrimental to health. Since surgery such as Botox only lasts for a certain amount of time, one will need to come back to the surgeon frequently if he/she wants to keep up with the beauty standards. In addition, when everyone focuses solely on physical appearance, meaningful inner traits may be neglected. For instance, many young people in Korea got turned down after the interview because they do not satisfy the company’s beauty policy despite having all demanded skills. Instead, the company will hire individuals with more attractive visuals. In conclusion, although cosmetic surgery can help one achieve his/her desired look, it has a detrimental effect on an individual’s health and shapes the way people perceive beauty negatively.