Governments around the world spend too much money on treating illness And diseases and not Enough on health education and prevention.Do agree or disagree?

The assertion that our governments spend far too many resources on treating illness rather than prevention is one I strongly disagree with. While educating the population about preventative measures is essential, simply prioritizing it over treatment may not yield the results we expect. Due to the importance of furthering scientific research, patient autonomy, and the multifactorial reasons for disease, I believe it is necessary for governments to continue spending money on finding solutions. To begin with, the progression of scientific research especially in the field of healthcare has been hugely beneficial to maintaining public health. Without the countless institutions around the world studying the microbes that infect us, and discovering cures for such pathogens, we would be unable to fight of the several pandemics that have taken over our world throughout history. Most recently, when covid-19 emerged in 2020, forcing the world into lockdown, it was imperative that scientists create vaccines to combat its deadly effects. Regardless of the measures taken by the government to prevent its spread, the dissemination of the disease was unavoidable. Even with it being punishable by law to host events and not wear a mask, there were still people who continued to do so. In addition to this, patient autonomy/rights while extremely important, make it so that even with evidence proving the dangers of a disease, people can simply refuse to comply. Circling back to the covid-19 pandemic, people who believed vaccinations cause more harm than good, could neglect to take them. Unable to force people to get vaccinated against their will, governments can instead spend the resources they have in finding cures to help fight the infections people will inevitably get. Moreover, the prevention of disease is a small part of a much larger problem that needs to first be addressed. In underdeveloped nations, or countries in ongoing war, teaching the population about risks and how to remain healthy is fruitless without giving them the environment to do so. For instance, in small villages in India, while a child may be taught about the contaminants in the dirty water, he/she will still quench their thirst with said water if it is their only source of hydration. The government should absolutely devote resources in solving those crises, but I believe it would be utopian to believe it is possible to entirely eradicate such problems. Hence, it is necessary to be able to provide such nations with viable treatment options. In conclusion, it is non-negotiable for the government to allocate a certain amount of their finances to the prevention of disease, since it is always better to not have to undergo the consequences if you can simply get rid of the problem. Even so, due to the impracticality of expecting a hundred percent compliance, making sure to spend money on treatment and research is the only responsible thing to do.