Some people argue that countries can have both economic success and a clean environment. Some disagree. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Economic success and the maintenance of a clean environment are factors that some people believe have causative effects on each other. Theoretically, it is the logical assumption that countries with a high GDP and low unemployment, would want an environment that reflects the same success. Some oppose this view. Certain countries have made it punishable by law to litter in public. An example of such a place is Singapore, where chewing gum in a public space is met with a fine. This discipline, enforced by the government, is also reflected in the workforce, making the country quite financially successful. During my time there, I also noticed a certain lack of abandoned animals, homeless people, and unkept greenery, which alll contribute to an unclean environment. On the other hand, depending on a country's main source of income, it can be inevitable that there is an unclean environment. For instance, a nation like Thailand, where tourism is very high and they open up their country to an enormous amount of people every year, it would be quite hard to maintain a clean environment. This means more public transport is being used, and there are more people walking on the street, causing more pollution. In conclusion, I believe that a country's ability to have economic success and a clean environment is dependent on its source of revenue. So countries like Thailand and India, that depend on tourism, would be unlikely to have a clean environment. In conclusion, I believe that a country's ability to have economic success and a clean environment is dependent on its source of revenue. So countries like Thailand and India, that depend on tourism, would be unlikely to have a clean environment. In conclusion, I believe that a country's ability to have economic success and a clean environment is dependent on its source of revenue. So countries like Thailand and India, that depend on tourism, would be unlikely to have a clean environment.