Many parents put pressure on their children to get high grades in school. Give the reasons for this and choose whether this is a positive or negative action.

Today, it seems that education is more important than ever. In contemporary society, educational success is a high priority, leading many parents to demand academic excellence. There is a debate about whether this strategy is helping or hindering the child. This essay will examine the motivations behind parental pressure and whether it is a positive or negative action. On the one hand, the drive to push children for high grades stems from several reasons. First, the modern job market is fiercely competitive. Parents understand that securing top marks opens doors to elite universities. This, in turn, leads to lucrative career opportunities. Second, social status and cultural expectations play a massive role. In many societies, a child's academic performance is viewed as a direct reflection of the parents. Consequently, parents pressure their children to maintain family honour and appearances in the community. Finally, most parents believe that their goal is to push their children to surpass their achievements. Parents want to see their children outdo them. This can be a source of parental pride. On the other hand, despite the well-intentions of parents, this intense pressure is overwhelmingly negative. First, the primary consequence is the severe damage to their mental health. Chronic stress to perform well often creates anxiety, depression, and a fear of failure. Furthermore, this obsession with marks has a negative effect on the child's educational interest. They start to hate and resent school. Thus, parental pressure has the opposite effect. Finally, it changes how students proceed in school. Instead of a love for learning and developing thinking and research skills, students resort to memorisation to pass exams. When education is only about chasing grades, the child is negatively affected. In conclusion, parents pressure their children for many reasons. Moreover, I believe that this practice is completely negative. It causes psychological distress and results in more harm than good.