In some cultures children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. What are advantages and disadvanages of giving children this message?

It is been told in many cultures that children can achieve anything if they try hard enough. In this essay I will discuss advantages and disadvantages of this statement. To begin with, this message positively affect child's self-esteem. At a young age children absorbs information quickly and this fundamental belief about hard- work is essential for them. When a child wants to accomplish something valuable, they will remember these words and try to work hard, so their wishes will come true. For example, in order to get a toy, a child needs to get a good mark at school. Therefore, they become more confident in their abilities and develop higher self-esteem. Hence, this statement does not apply to many developing countries. When children are born in a large families, they are forced to work at a young age, and do not have access to education, the idea that hard work always leads to success does not match reality. They are underpaid and it becomes difficult to make meet ends. Not only do they support their families, but also themselves. Moreover, they work extremely long hours, without breaks and often suffer from malnutrition. Most of the jobs that they work are dangerous, and unfortunately many children do not even survive into adulthood or end up with many diseases. Consequently, instead of fulfilling their own dreams, they spend their lives helping others achieve theirs. To conclude, although this message can inspire many children to work hard and achieve their goals, it does not apply equally to everyone, particularly those living in difficult circumstances.