Some university students want to learn about other subjects in addition to their main subjects. Others believe it is more important to give all their time and attention to studying for a qualification. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

There is an ongoing debate among university students in regard to choosing courses. Some are interested in learning non-linear supplementary subjects, while others believe it is much wiser to maximize their efforts in linear courses to surpass job qualifications. This essay agrees that learning multiple disciplines can benefit students as it provides many career opportunities in the long run. Many university students these days are drawn to take interdisciplinary courses to further aid their studies. By taking these additional courses, they can broaden their knowledge in their respective fields of interest, which can help immensely when a student feels like they have chosen the wrong major. As a result, students are free to learn what they are passionate about and can potentially create a career out of it. For example, it is not uncommon to find English literature graduates in corporate marketing occupations or economics graduates as teachers. However, some students argue that learning within their respective fields is more beneficial. Generally, this belief is popular among students majoring in disciplines offering a promised job upon graduation. Some examples are careers in engineering, law, education, and medicine. Because of this preconceived belief, they are less likely to take supplementary courses as it is deemed a waste of time and energy. I’d argue that this is a foul way of thinking. Through technological advancements, especially AI (artificial intelligence), the labor market is not promised to anyone, and it is much wiser to acquire as many skills as possible to minimize the possibility of future unemployment. For instance, school teachers are potentially on the verge of non-existence as AI teachers have become increasingly popular. In summary, I believe that learning interdisciplinary courses is far more beneficial than putting all your eggs in a basket and only learning linear subjects. The former allows students to have back-up knowledge of different disciplines upon entering the labor market, whilst the latter does not. I’d argue that learning as much as possible during university days is the best way.