Large businesses have big budgets for marketing and promotion, and as a result, people gravitate towards buying their products. What problems does this cause? What could be done to encourage people to buy local products?

Backed by substantial budgets for marketing initiatives, large corporations are able to shape consumers’ selection toward their products to an extent that smaller firms simply cannot match. This trend gradually hinders the growth of many local enterprises and limits consumer choice. With a view to reviving the competitiveness of local manufacturers, the government should impose higher taxes on dominant businesses and provide financial support to local start-ups. The expansion of already-dominant corporations makes smaller ones encounter difficulties in competing in the domestic market. Companies often invest heavily in promotional and advertising campaigns to strategically shape people’s preferences toward their products, leading to an increase in revenue and, later, market dominance. This is best exemplified by Nike and Adidas in the recent World Cup, since both brands featured celebrities and high-profile athletes in their advertising campaigns, driving a boom in their footwear sales along with significantly enhance their brands' image and consumer confidence. Accordingly, local footwear businesses often struggle to grow owing to limited brand recognition and low consumer trust, consequently contributing to a decrease in sales of local products. Governments should levy taxes on big companies in parallel with subsidy value-added taxes on domestic products, consequently preventing the dominance of foreign manufacturers over local companies. An additional approach is to provide financial support to local enterprises in favour of incentivizing local entrepreneurship and production. As people have wider range of affordable alternatives, they are likely to purchase locally produced goods. In conclusion, large corporations have invested huge budgets for marketing purposes to drive consumer purchasing behaviour toward their products to an extent that smaller firms cannot match. Therefore, governments should impose higher taxes on dominant brands and provide financial support to local companies or start-ups to level the playing field and encourage people to buy local products.