Some people buy new phones or laptops to keep up with new technology. Is this a good or bad thing?

In recent years, many people prefer to buy new mobile phones and laptops whenever a new model is released in order to keep up with latest technology. While, this trend has some advantages, I believe that disadvantages of this trend are more as it encourages unnecessary spending and create environmental problems. This essay will highlight initially positive aspects of purchasing new devices followed by brief account of its drawbacks. On the one hand, one evident benefit of buying new communications devices on launching is that it provides security and updates that old ones have discontinued. This is an essential feature of many applications that are used in people’s daily life. For instance, banking applications and Microsoft office did not run on old phones as their updates get stopped by the company after a certain period. In addition, the latest mobiles and laptops provide much better performance and speed in comparison to older technology that lag in new features. On the downside, there could be certain problems associated with purchasing the latest model phones and laptops. One issue involved with it is that buying a new phone or laptop every year puts financial pressure on individuals, especially when their old device is still working fine. For example, according to a survey report by dailynews.com, 40% of adults in the USA buy a new iPhone every year when it launches just to show off in their friend circle. Moreover, this habit leads to a large amount of electronic waste. These electronic devices contain harmful materials, which lead to environmental pollution if they are not recycled, ultimately leading to the destruction of the planet and habitats. To sum up, on account of the points discussed above, it is logically concluded that changing to new phones and laptop may give efficiency and some new features. I believe that its disadvantages outweigh the advantages as they increase financial burden and disturb environmental sustainability.