Nowadays animal experiments are widely used to develop new medicines and to test the safety of other products. Some people argue that these experiments should be banned because it is morally wrong to cause animals to suffer, while others are in favour of them because of their benefits to humanity. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

There is a growing debate on animal testing which is very common in medical and other scientific research. While many people argue that animal experimentation should be completely banned, I agree with the opinion that experiments on animals are still necessary for humans and I hold the opinion that we should allow part of animal preclinical testing for critical drug research. Many people believe that animal testing should be banned for many reasons. Firstly, experimentation on animals could be cruel to them since testing cause them to suffer, which is unethical, because we have no right to harm them for humans. Secondly, those experiments sometimes could kill animals, which would exasperate the environmental imbalance. For example, orangutan for animal preclinical testing is an endangered species, which should be protected and sent back to nature instead of testing drugs and getting killed. Finally, preparations for those tests may also be harmful to humans, and if they are released into rivers and the ocean, they will cause serious pollution. On the other hand, there is another opinion arguing that we should remain animal testing. The key reason for experiments on animals is that it is necessary to use them for developing medicines. If we stop using animals for drug testing, then we humans need to try every kind of new drug by ourselves with a risk of getting killed, which is obviously more immoral than sacrificing animals. Another reason is that the suffering of animals can be reduced or even eliminated, which is one of the aims of researchers. Furthermore, although animal experiments do harm animals to some extent, we can minimize the harm to them by limiting the range of experiments. For instance, animal tests for the cosmetics industry are unnecessary, so we can stop using animals for them and leave the animals for more important experiments. In a nutshell, despite animal testing has its drawbacks, I still insist that animal experiments should be allowed at least in important medical research.