Some people think that it is good for a country’s culture to broadcast foreign films and TV shows. Others, however, think it is best to produce local films and shows. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Some school of thoughts believes that showing international movies and television shows is best for a country while other's are of the opinion that it's best for a nation to make their native films and shows. I am of the opinion that it's best for a nation to produce their indigenous movies and local shows because it promotes culture and heritage and also brings development to the entertainment industry. Firstly, the production of local entertainment shows and movies helps to promote local cultures and heritage. This is because, these movies are produced in story lines that portrays the nations origin and when viewed by the local people, it improves their understanding of the heritage which makes them to know more about it and put them in practice at every opportunity. For example, the Makosa movie produced by king Jaja of Senegal show cased the nations ancient practice of cotton farming and cloth making which the country of Senegal was known for. The movie was viewed massively by both the young and old people. These made the people of the younger generation to embrace this practice, making Senegal to be known for cotton textile manufacturing till date thus, fostering culture and heritage. Secondly, producing local movies and shows in theatres promotes the revenue generated from the entertainment industry. This contributes significantly to the nations gross development. For instance, a research study in 2020 in Nigeria showed that about 30% of country's GDP was contributed by revenues generated from local film production. This eventually promotes the economy. However, broadcasting foreign shows and movies by the country demarkets the country entertainment industry. Because showing these foreign films deprives the nation the opportunity to show case the talents of the local entertainers to the citizens. This in turn, waters down the efforts of our talented entertainers because they are not involved in movie making, thus they can't showcase their talent which eventually makes them less known by their own people. In my opinion, I believe that a country should engage in the production of their local shows, films and movies because it gives the national individuals the opportunity to view stories that are relatable to them. To summarise, it is of great advantage to make local stories and movies because it promotes culture, heritage and revenue generation while televising foreign movies should not be embraced because it makes talents of the locals not to be widely viewed and appreciated.