It is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction.To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?What sort of punishment should parents and teachers be allowed to use to teach good behaviour to children?

It is vital for kids to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age since punishment is essential to assist the distinction. I agree with this sentiment; nevertheless, it depends on the method used for teaching. Having consequences for action helps in understanding what is right and wrong. Making mistakes is important to be able to learn from them. This results in not repeating the actions and preventing bad habits. Namely, pupils in school who are routinely late to class because they extend their playtime rather than going to class. Therefore, the consequence for that from teachers is detention during the next playtime. That would be a lesson for the pupil to be on time for class to have more free time, instead of sitting in the classroom while other classmates enjoy their break. Discipline is also a way of guidance and encouragement for children on how to behave as they are the people of the future society and community. For instance, when I was young, I was scolded by my mother if I was being fussy, unreasonable, disrespectful or throwing a tantrum,especially in a public setting. Thus, it taught me to behave humanely as I grew older. However, if I had been slapped or physically disciplined, the chances of me rebelling and being more aggressive would be high. There have been several studies that show how these types of negative punishment leave a lasting impact on children, such as trauma, that are prominent in the way they act, behave, treat others and make decisions as they grow older. In conclusion, punishment is essential for children to learn from their mistakes, but methods that help them understand rather than those that cause psychological or physical harm.