Some people think news has no connection to people's lives, so it is a waste of time to read the news in newspapers and watch television news programs. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people believe that the news is not directly related to our daily lives and that we should not spend time on such behaviours, including reading newspapers and watching report programs on TV. Hence, in this essay, I will explore some advantages and disadvantages brought by the information and explain why I consider that the news is essential for us. To begin with, the benefits generated from the news are notable because we can directly obtain information and knowledge by engaging with it. For instance, from a wider perspective, by reading and watching international news, we can understand the current conditions of the world due to diversified content. Meanwhile, in terms of local news, there are several benefits as well. In fact, in Japan, there are hundreds of publishing companies in each region, and, by reading newspapers published by them, regional citizens can grasp the ongoing situations of their cities. In other words, both international and local news bring advantages to audiences, so they should invest their life in reading or watching the news. On the other hand, as some communities argue, public content may be meaningless for some citizens. For example, international news will not benefit ordinary people because there is no way for them to utilise the information about foreign countries. Certainly, those aspects of the news can be stressful and meaningless from their perspectives. Moreover, it is also true that, without knowing any clue regarding the places where we live, living comfortably is impossible because the situations surrounding us change every second. Thus, spending time on various news from wider areas and fields is significantly important for us to have meaningful daily lives. In conclusion, some of the news may not be relevant or true these days. Therefore, regularly engaging with the news is not only beneficial but necessary in today's fast-paced world.