Some people argue that primary schools focus too much on formal learning. To what extent do you agree with this opinion? How important do you think it is for children to play as well as learn in the primary school classroom?

It is often argued that primary schools are conservative and only teach using traditional methods. I completely agree with this view as today primary schools give their full attention to traditional learning, but i think it is important that schools should balance between playing and learning in their classrooms. Nowadays, schools all over the world build their education system around formal teaching and learning. Looking back at the past, since the start of schools the learning system never changed much till now, they only focus on giving education despite the ability difference there. Schools follow age sequence to decide which grade a student is suitable. Instead, they should focus more on ability categories. For example, highly intelligent students who can solve complex mathematical equations should in be placed in a higher grade than the student who cannot. Consequently, ability-grouped schools produce better results. It is highly crucial that primary schools have to strike a balance between games and lessons. Almost all schools are only about lessons which is quite boring for an early year pupils. Many young people find it hard to study after finishing kindergarten because they may find it difficult going through the phase of only playing to constantly studying. For that reason, schools should also focus on rewarding children after each class by giving them time to play outside. A good example is if a young student studies for about three to four hours consecutively, they may feel mentally drained and a 20-minute play time after each class would make the difference. As a result, it helps children to adapt to the school environment without feeling mentally tired and also they would go home with a full of excitement to share to their parents about their day at school. To conclude, I believe that primary schools follow a tradition education system and instead they give implement class based on ability levels not through age groups. I also think balanced approach of playing and learning is highly crucial for children to get used to school atmosphere.