The air we breathe has a major impact on our health and the environment. However, the air pollution is constantly growing and at current levels it can be fought only globally. That is to say, individual efforts to improve air quality will not give any results, and it's solely responsibility of our governments to reduce air pollution. Do you agree or disagree?

It is widely acknowledged that air pollution has increasingly become a major public concern, and some people believe that air quality can be improved by some precautions that are taken by the government on a large scale. I strongly agree with this statement that the government should impose strict bans that deter companies from contributing to environmental pollution. This essay elaborates on my position with relevant arguments and examples. The foremost reason to support my view is that companies are the main contributors to air pollution by releasing detrimental fumes and gases that affect human health badly. This is because poorly planned factories do not have well-designed filters that retain these harmful gases and fumes, and these substances dissolve into the air people inhale. Given that, the government has to address this issue by implementing well-structured regulations that penalise these companies to improve air quality. As a result, companies take immediately actions that prevent them from high fines due to the lack of sufficient filter system. For instance, in China, air pollution, sparked by ineffective regulations, causes irreversible health conditions, and citizens' efforts cannot solve this problem. Although China has an enormous number of people, its efforts do not place a sufficient strain on companies. Consequently, to solve this problem, the government's efforts require protecting the air quality. Furthermore, transportation plays a crucial role in deteriorating air quality by consuming fossil fuel that cause air contamination. As people have to go to their work, they have to take a bus or drive their cars that consume an excessive amount of diesel fuel. Although employees do not have any choice to refuse to go to their offices, the government encourages companies to adopt a new policy that enables employees to work from home. As there is no longer a need to commute to their offices, the amount of diesel energy consumption will decrease, which results in a reduction in air contamination. To illustrate, in Holland, some companies change their policies due to the government's legistative regulations, enabling their employees to work at home after COVID-19. Hence, this change leads to a decrease in public transportation and private car usage, improving the air quality. In conclusion, although some people believe that some individual actions can improve the air quality, I firmly believe that large scale implementations, supported by the government, can create enough pressure,which is reinforced by legistative regulations. Consequently, companies, which are the main contributors to air contamination can take actions, resulting in reducing toxic gases release and encouraging their employees to work from home.