An increasing number of people are buying what they need online. What are the advantages and disadvantages for both individuals and companies to shopping online?

Nowadays, more and more individuals are shopping on the internet for the efficiency and convenience this method offers. However, the difficulty of checking the quality before buying something online is one drawback, and the additional commission is another. On the one hand, shopping online is more convenient and time-efficient than in-store shopping. With one Google search, buyers can easily find what they’re looking for, and can easily and quickly compare products between various vendors and get the best deal, and they can also shop at any time of day, as there is no closing time in online stores. Moreover, having to shop from anywhere helps save time and effort, because shoppers won’t have to empty their schedules and drive in traffic to the store and might not find the designated product. For instance, due to the increasing rate of traffic in Riyadh, Saudi Arabia, now around 90% of grocery stores offer an online shopping service that enables customers to shop for their groceries and have it deliver to them in a matter of minutes. On the other hand, it is difficult to check the product’s quality before buying it on the internet. Even if it is described on the seller’s website, not all people have the knowledge of materials, and not all stores write the required information about the product they are buying. In comparison, shopping in-store allows buyers to examine what they’re buying before buying it, and they can ask the employees for help or information. Additionally, many websites require extra fees when shopping on their websites, which will cost more money than shopping in-store. For example, most online stores charge service fees for picking up the goods from the seller's location instead of the consumer and a delivery fee that depends on how far the seller's location is. In conclusion, although it is easier and faster to shop online, the quality of the product might not meet expectations, and it requires extra commission.