many places, prisons are overcrowded and expensive for governments to maintain. Yet, when offenders are released, they end up back in prison a short while later. Do prisons work? Should law-breakers be rehabilitated or punished?

In the modern era, the vast majority of the former offenders are inclined to break the law repeatedly, despite having just been released from jail. This essay will not only investigate leading factors of this tendency, but also discuss to what extent society will be influenced consequently. Initial significant reason that leads to further crimes is the lack of sufficient trainings arranged specifically for the prisoners in an attempt to educate them phsycologically and legally.Nowadays, only a small number of educative events are organised in prisons for convicts to explain how legal solutions can deter them from violating the law. On top of that, inmates are not provided with phsycological assistance, which is detrimental to developing emotional intelligence that is highly likely to prevent them from committing any crimes caused by aggression. However, if authorities passed a special law to strengthen initiatives designed for offenders’ legal and emotional needs, they could be successfully persuaded not to offend the law anymore. For instance, a prisoner was explained a murder ends up with 15 years in jail and what he could do to overcome his rage, he would probably avoid making further attempts. Multiple violations of the law by the same ex -convicts will in its turn have significant negative effects on the society. A criminal who committed a crime more than once will confront a social stigma. Due to their criminal backgrounds, people will feel anxious, instead of feeling secure around them. As a result, it will be quite challenging for them to land a job and make new bonds. Today, it is not common to see an employer trust a good position to someone who has been sentenced for several times. In conclusion, a growing number of criminals tend to break the law again in spite of having been punished previously due to lacking constructive instructions. Therefore, society feels skeptical of them and is less likely rely on them in terms of responsibility and friendship.